We all know that Apple is way ahead of Google when it comes to the privacy of its customers. Google is often in the limelight for sharing user data or tracking users even after they have chosen not to track you. Hell, it gets sued for such things all the time. However, did you know that your iPhone also keeps a fairly detailed account of all the places you visit?

Most of you may not know it, but there is something called “Meaningful Locations” on your iPhone that keeps a detailed record of all the places you visit, including the time you visited and how many times you visited that location.

Now this may sound horrible, but don’t worry. Important locations are end-to-end encrypted, which means Apple can’t read your location data even if you want to. Also, this location data is saved on your iPhone and used by applications like Photos to show you things like those Memories it continues to generate.

It’s not really something to be scared of, and Apple isn’t doing anything wrong here. It’s an interesting thing that many Apple lovers and iPhone users probably don’t know. I know you didn’t know, and I’m a huge iPhone fanatic.

However, if you want, you can also prevent your iPhone from collecting this information and completely delete your location history that you have already collected. Here we’ll explain to you how to do it.

  • Go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services.
Source: Lifewire
  • Scroll down and tap on ‘System Services‘ and then on ‘Significant Locations‘.
Source: Clipart.Email
  • Simply turn off the toggle to disable Significant Locations. If you want to delete your location history, just tap on ‘Clear History‘ and you’re done.
Source: AppleToolBox

While you’re here, you can also read Apple’s privacy policy. It is quite detailed and gives a good idea of how the company shares its data and what data is encrypted.

1 Comment

Write A Comment