If you want to take a break from Instagram, you have two options: you can delete Instagram account, or you can just temporarily deactivate it. This article will show you how to delete your Instagram account.
Table of Contents
- Disable vs Delete
- Deactivate an Instagram account
- Downloading your Instagram data
- How to delete your Instagram account
Disable vs Delete: All you need to know
You can deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account, depending on your preferences.
The deactivation of your account is temporary, but while it is deactivated, your account, along with your profile, followers, photos, likes, and comments will be hidden from other users. To restore all this information and start using Instagram normally again, simply login back into your account.
The deletion of your Instagram account cannot be restored. When you delete your Instagram account, all your data including photos, followers, etc. will be permanently deleted. In the future, if you decide to re-register with Instagram, you will not be able to use the same username again, nor will anyone else.
How to Deactivate an Instagram account
You cannot disable Instagram through the app, you must do so in a web browser on the Instagram website. If you want to take a break from Instagram, you can deactivate your account by following these steps:
- On the Instagram website, log into your account and click the person’s icon to go to their profile page.
- Select “Edit Profile“, scroll down and click “Temporarily disable my account.”
- You will be asked, “Why are you disabling your account?” Select a reason from the menu.
- Re-enter your password and select “Temporarily disable account.“
- Your account is now deactivated and will be hidden from other users until you log in again. NOTE: According to the use policy of Instagram, you can only deactivate your Instagram account once a week.
Downloading your Instagram data
Once you have deleted your Instagram account, all your data will be gone forever; they cannot be recovered.
Therefore, you may want to download your Instagram data before deleting your account, so that you still have all the photos, videos, etc. that you have posted over time. To download a copy of your Instagram data:
- Go to your Instagram profile and select “Settings” (gear icon).
- Click on the “Privacy and Security” tab and click on “Request Download“.
- Enter the email address where you would like to receive a link to your Instagram details, followed by your password.
- Within 48 hours, you should receive an email with a link to your details, titled “Your Instagram Details“. Click on “Download data“.
How to delete your Instagram account
As with deactivation, an Instagram account can only be deleted through a web browser. To permanently delete your Instagram account, follow these simple steps:
- Log into your account on the Instagram website.
- Go to the “Delete your account” page on Instagram. Select the reason for your deletion from the menu.
- Enter your password and click “Permanently delete my account“
- Your Instagram account is now deleted.
We hope that you now know how to delete Instagram account permanently. As mentioned, there is always an option for temporary deactivation in case you are willing to take a break from social media but don’t want to lose your account.
Featured Apps —> Install Sony Liv Here